Skip to content

Sewing and chocolate

May 4, 2011

A couple of friends and I are trying our hands at having a booth in our local farmer’s market this summer, and we are all very excited.  Our main wares are going to be tres fancy cupcakes, recycled tee shirt reusable bags (a post on this to come soon!), felt play foods made with felt from recycled plastic bottles, and I’m toying with the idea of adding vegan baked goods to our list.  I also thought I would try making recycled tee shirt yoga pants, and if it went well, I’d add that to the list!

The yoga pants went swimmingly!  I followed this tutorial on line.  Since this was my first pair, I didn’t take step by step pictures, as there are a few things I think I’ll do differently than this tutorial.  All in all, it worked great, they are very comfy, and I cranked them out between dinner time and my daughter’s bed time!  My awesome cousin sent me this link, so I think she’ll be getting a pair soon!

Can you believe these yoga pants started off as one of my husband’s uniform shirts? (From way back in the day before they switched to tan shirts and digital camo)  This shirt (or one of the thirty others he has) is pretty much the only shirt he wore the entire time we were dating.  When I picture him from that time, I picture him wearing this, so it’s fun to have a new way to wear something so connected to him while he’s gone.

Now on to my next endeavor, vegan baking!  I decided to whip up some chocolate chip cookies from one of my all time favorite cook books, The 100 Best Vegan Baking Recipes by Kris Holechek (she has a fun blog here) I tweaked it a bit, as I often do, so I’m giving my tweaked version.

Here’s what you need:

2 cups whole wheat flour

1 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 cup dairy free margarine

1/2 cup apple sauce

1 cup evaporated cane juice

1 tsp vanilla

1 tsp corn starch

2 T dairy free milk (I usually use almond milk)

1 cup dairy-free chocolate chips

Here’s what you do:

Pre-heat to 350

Whisk together dry ingredients (but not the evaporated cane juice).

Cream together the margarine, applesauce, and evaporated cane juice.  Do this longer than you think is necessary, until the mixture lightens up a few shades.  The evaporated cane juice takes it’s time dissolving, so this is boring but makes a difference.

Dissolve the corn starch into the milk, then add it to the liquids along with the vanilla.  Slowly add the dry ingredients, then stir in your chocolate.

Drop tablespoons of dough ~2 inches apart on a lined cookie sheet (I use a silicone liner, so there’s no parchment paper being thrown out with each batch) and bake for 8-10 minutes, cool on the sheet for 5, then cool the rest of the way on the rack!

I like to keep the dough in the refrigerator and just make a few of fresh baked cookies each night until it’s gone.  If you’re just in it for the cookie dough, I highly recommend you let the dough sit in the fridge over night, or at least for a few hours.  If you don’t, the evaporated cane juice will remain gritty and you won’t get that cookie dough texture you’re after.

If the recipe sounds too healthy for you, let me just say that my 2 year old and her bestie devour these things!

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 4, 2011 8:42 pm

    Yeah I can totally attest to the yumminess of those cookies. I had to hide them from my daughter. Also the yoga pants are soooo adorable!! I want a pair!!

Leave a Reply

