Skip to content

Cookout- Veggie Style!

May 6, 2011

Since we were both husband-less for the evening, my fabulous friend and I had a last minute veggie-filled cookout!  Two smart ladies can completely prepare all the food, run the grill, and also keep a pair of two year olds amused (and there were no burnt fingers, either!) and still have dinner on the table by 6.

We had veggie kebabs consisting of zucchini, yellow squash, and cherry tomatoes, made by said fabulous friend.

She also made some killer vegan cole-slaw.  I ate way more than my fair share.  This is the recipe she used.

In addition to the tasty kebabs, we grilled some veggie dogs, and some carrots and green beans.  In the picture below, the carrots and green beans are in the foil with about a tablespoon and  a half of olive oil, some seasoned salt, and some fresh pepper.  We didn’t put anything on the kebabs, and they came out perfectly.  I wish I had paid more attention to grilling times, but with two toddlers near a hot grill, my mind was elsewhere!

The little ladies were as into the dinner as the grown ones!  Everything is better with ketchup.

This was my friend’s and her daughter’s first forray into the world of veggie dogs!  Little S devoured two, so I think it’s safe to say she dug them.  And my friend was impressed as well!  She said they definitely have a different texture, but she might like it better!  I think the main trick to veggie dogs is that you really need to dress them up.  I prefer mine full on Chicago style, but I was missing a few key ingredients, so we had to make do with relish, mustard, and salt (not celery, sadly).

We definitely proved that you don’t need meat or men to have a successful cook out!  (Not that our husbands wouldn’t have been welcome!)

Mmmmm, I’m going to have to go snag another bite of that slaw.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Evie permalink
    May 6, 2011 12:54 pm

    I LOVE that type of slaw! My grandfather makes one quite similar but it has some diced bell peppers in it, which is a nice addition.

    I have been wanting to try veggie dogs for a while. Which brand did you go with?

  2. May 6, 2011 1:08 pm

    We had SmartDogs. Yves is a good brand of dog, too!

Leave a Reply

