Skip to content

Work it!

May 6, 2011

It’s been an action packed day!  I’m running in my first 5K in over a year in just one week!  I’m excited, but I know I have a lot of work to do, since I took two weeks off from running in order to visit the west coast (to say farewell to my husband one last time, and then visit with family).  To help get my body back to where it needs to be, I’ve been fitting in exercise everywhere I can, which I try to do anyway, I’m just super conscious of it with the race coming up!  I don’t intend to win by any means (it’s at the National Guard base, so if there are any soldiers running, I don’t really stand a chance) but I would like to beat the time I got on my last one, 33 minutes.

I’ve ran the past three days in a row, so today BL and I took the ol’ bucket bike for a ride.

We have an amazing network of paved trails that go everywhere in our town!  We went for a short ride today, just to get out of the house.  Here is a picture of the bike’s maiden voyage to one of our town’s great playgrounds:

It can fit up to four munchkins at once!  We’ll see how BL is feeling, and I might be riding it to Starbucks for a soy frappucino when she wakes up from her nap.

The rest of my activity for today came from mowing my insane yard.  Two weeks of torrential rain turned my backyard into a jungle!  The cat was loving it, all sneaking around like the tiger she thinks she is.  It had to go, though, as BL was starting to have trouble navigating it.

We’re just having leftovers for dinner tonight, so I’m going to leave you with BL’s current favorite treat, Banana Ice Cream, from “Vegan Baked Goods Don’t Suck! (Gotta love the title!)

Here’s what you need:

4 or 5 bananas

2-4 T peanut butter

a splash of non-dairy milk

Here’s what you do:

Chop up the bananas and freeze them for an hour or two on a plate

Pop them in your blender or food processor with the peanut butter and as much milk as you need to get it to the consistency you’d like!

BL could eat this by the bucketful!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Chris permalink
    May 6, 2011 11:42 pm

    Banana Ice Cream is wonderful!! It’s so easy, and so tasty. Thanks for the recipe.

  2. Evie permalink
    May 8, 2011 3:21 pm

    I didn’t even have to do the splash of milk and it was perfection! I took it across the street and it was very well received there too!

Leave a Reply

