Skip to content

Vegan Lemon Ice Box Pie!

May 10, 2011

Before my husband and I were married, we weren’t able to buy each other a lot of presents, because we were poor college students.  We actually made each other our Christmas presents the first Christmas we were together as a couple.  So when my husband spent his few extra dollars to buy me an antique lemon juicer, just so I could make lemon ice box pies (and in style, no less), I knew he was serious.

Lemon ice box pie has three ingredients, a store-bought graham cracker crust, sweetened condensed milk, and fresh lemon juice.  It’s the simplest pie in the world, and also the only one on which my husband and I agree (I’m not a fan of pie crust, I’m a cobbler girl).  Now that it’s getting warmer, it’s lemon ice box season, and my heart broke a little when I thought about not eating one.  Luckily I remembered that the internet has EVERYTHING and I found this!

I just got done mowing the lawn, and spent the day gardening, landscaping, and painting a chicken coop, so I’m too tired to write everything out, but the instructions on the link are written really well, I don’t have much to add to them.  I couldn’t find a vegan graham cracker crust (though they do exist) so I got v. vanilla wafers, and after putting them in a zip-lock bag, my lovely friend who was visiting pounded them with a rolling pin until they were the right consistency.  Then we put them in a pie plate with 1/3 cup melted dairy-free margarine (I use Earth Balance), stirred until combined, then pressed until it lined the whole pie plate.

Here are some action shots!  Notice my juicer to the right, and check out the rock on my lovely friend’s finger!!!!!!!  Good work, fiance!

This is a good view of our self-made crust.  It was very tasty, but the filling was so good, it didn’t even need a crust.  My cousin is going to try it crust-less with granola, which I think will be fantastic.

Waiting is the hardest part.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Deployed Daddy permalink
    May 11, 2011 6:16 am

    Yes it is! Especially when that wait is a whole year! hmm, we have lemons in the DFAC sometimes, if I can track down some sweetened condensed milk (vegan preferably, but not likely) and I may have to see about making my own! Now, where to find a refrigerator in the desert…

  2. Stuart permalink
    May 11, 2011 10:14 pm

    I don’t know about refrigerators but if you get hungry you can eat the sand which is there. Mmmm desert pieaaaaghdrool

  3. September 24, 2013 3:37 am

    How can this be vegan when you use condensed milk?

    • September 24, 2013 4:02 am

      You have to click the link; I made my own vegan sweetened condensed milk and just out the link to the recipe instead of typing it out 🙂 it was vegan 🙂

Leave a Reply

