Skip to content

Too Hot for the Oven

May 12, 2011

I was in the mood for roasted veggies tonight, but our house is already an oven, so I just couldn’t bring myself to turn the oven on.  Luckily I’m no longer intimidated by my grill and decided to grill my veggies instead!  I found an amazing recipe for White bean and lemon potatoes in one of my favorite cookbooks, “Vegan on the Cheap” by Robin Robertson.  It got bonus points because I already had (mostly) everything.  Since I grilled, and left some things out, I’m giving my tweaked version of the recipe, but I highly recommend checking out this book yourself for the real deal, and others.

Here’s what you need:

3-ish potatoes, sliced

3 cloves of garlic, crushed (or diced, what-evs)

Olive oil

Salt and pepper

1 can of white beans (I used Northern), rinsed

Parsley (fresh if you have it, dried if you don’t)

1/2 cup kalamata olives, chopped

Juice of 1 lemon (I highly recommend you juice a fresh lemon)

1 T capers

Here’s what you do:

Microwave the sliced potatoes for about 4 minutes so they won’t take an eternity on the grill.

While the potatoes are being microwaved, get the rest of your ingredients together and pop them on a tray so you can take it all out to your grill, you’re going to assemble this outside.  I’m obsessed with prep-bowls, so this was a perfect chance to bust them out.

Take a sheet of aluminum foil and turn the edges up a bit all around it so your olive oil won’t leak out, and put about 1T of olive oil into it, and spread it around.  Lay your microwaved potatoes onto it, season with salt and pepper, then put the foil on the grill.  I have a gas grill, and kept the burners on high for about the first 5 minutes, then lowered them down to med/low after I flipped the potatoes.  Keep an eye on them, because they will brown quickly.  And also, don’t grill with popping-hot oil while wearing a swimming suit, I learned that lesson for you.

When the potatoes are fork-stickable, add the beans, olives, garlic, and capers, and stir around a bit.  If it needs more oil, add it now.  Then toss on the lemon juice and parsley and stir some more.  Close the grill and let it sit on low heat for about 5 or ten more minutes so everything gets hot.

I had this with steamed broccoli and a slice of whole wheat whole grain bread, and it was perfect.  I think this recipe will make it into my portfolio of awesome dinners I whip up for special people.  Too bad the person I want to make it for the most is an ocean away!  Darlin’, you are going to flip for this, it was so good!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Evie permalink
    May 12, 2011 5:54 pm

    I can’t wait to visit and peruse this book! Yay for grilling!

  2. Inty permalink
    May 18, 2011 8:14 am

    That looks fab and I am going to make it this grilling season. I love your prep descriptions, especially fork-stickable, I will have to steal that little Katieism. Love this blog site!!

Leave a Reply

