Skip to content

end of a busy weekend

May 15, 2011

BL and I were lucky enough to have my parents (BL’s “Meme” and “Gr”) visit this weekend!  They came down to participate in a 5K run/1 mile family walk with us at the National Guard base near our house.  The run/walk was benefitting our local USO, a cause very close to my heart.  The USO has made it possible for my husband to call home, mail a DVD of Daddy reading a book, and for military personnel have somewhere to rest while they’re traveling, and could really use a friendly face.  When BL and I were making our way to visit Daddy one last time, the Denver USO was full of helpful people and desperately needed toys, and other military babies for BL to play with.  It’s an amazing program.

My goal for the 5K was 30 minutes, and I’m very proud to say that I made it in 29 on the dot!  My husband was able to do a Desert fun run at his base this week, as well, and got 23 and a half minutes!  He’s amazing!

Here we are after my run!  Notice BL is sporting her new camo skirt, and some camo on her face as well!
It’s a rainy Sunday afternoon, and after our tres busy weekend, all BL and I had energy for was snuggling up and eating pumpkin cookies.  I threw together a batch of cookies while she was napping, so they were still warm when she woke up.

I made a modified version of the pumpkin chocolate chip cookies from “The 100 Best Vegan Baking Recipes” by Kris Holechek.  (She has a fun Blog, too).  As usual, I’m giving the recipe for what I did, but it’s slightly different than what’s in the book.

Here’s what you’ll need:

1 cup whole wheat flour

1 cup all purpose flour

1t baking soda

1t baking powder

1t pumpkin pie spice (Or just cinnamon, as the original recipe calls for)

1/8t salt

1/2 cup non-dairy margarine

1/2 cup apple sauce

1/2 cup sugar (organic sugar, or sugar in the raw work well for this, and they are less refined)

1/2 cup evaporated cane juice

1 cup canned pumpkin

1t vanilla

1/2 cup chocolate chips

Here’s what you do:

Preheat the oven to 350, line your baking sheets (I like to use a silicone baking sheet, like sil-pat, but you can use parchment paper)

Combine flours, powder, soda, salt, and spice in a small mixing bowl.

In a large mixing bowl, cream the margarine, applesauce, and sugars.  You need to mix it for at least 2 or 3 minutes if you are using evaporated cane juice, because it takes a while to dissolve.  It should go from this:

To this:

Add the pumpkin and vanilla, and mix well.  Slowly add the dry ingredients to the wet, then stir in the chocolate chips.

Drop generous spoonfuls of dough onto your baking sheet, about 2 inches apart, and bake for 10-14 minutes.  It took my cookies 13 minutes.

Let the cookies cool for 15 minutes on the baking sheet, and cool the rest of the way on a cooling rack.

I decided to make Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies in honor of BL’s Daddy!  We got word today that he got to his base safe and sound, and so I made one his very favorite cookies to celebrate!  As soon as he gets a mailing address I will send him a batch! (Sans chocolate chips, of course, they don’t hold up well in the desert).

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 15, 2011 10:11 pm

    Congratulations on achieving your goal!

Leave a Reply

