Skip to content

Bias Tape!

May 17, 2011

My Mom was kind enough to donate the majority of her craft bins to me, and one of my treasures was vast amounts of bias tape!  I’ve made my own bias tape, and while it was adorable, it was a huge pain to make (in my opinion, but I probably just need practice).  Bias tape is strips of fabric that are cut on the bias (on a diagonal from the way the tread is woven) and then the edges are ironed over.  That’s a terrible description, so I will refer you here, to the description on MADE.

Anyway, bias tape is an adorable way to finish edges, especially on little girl clothes!  With the Farmer’s Market only a couple of weeks away, I’ve been sewing up a storm, and using plenty of crazy cute bias tape.  I’ve got a little skirt awaiting some elastic on my sewing table, and last night I whipped up a little summer top for my friend’s tiny new baby!

I’ve been ironing seams for days, since I’m making new curtains for my dining room, so I decided to use bias tape for the edges on this top!  It’s really simple, you just pin it around your raw edge, and sew it on!

The fun thing about it is you can continue the bias tape past the edge of the fabric to make cute ties, like on the baby’s little top above!  It’s also made to go around curves, which is how I edged the little key-hole cut out in the side of the top.

The shirring around the top is also easier than it looks.  It’s going to have to wait to be explained another, day, though!  Here is a good description from Pretty Ditty.

Once I perfect this little baby top for my farmer’s market booth, I’ll do a full tutorial.  It really wasn’t hard, I did it in an evening while messing around, so now that I know the end result I want, I don’t think it would take more than 45 minutes to make!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Chris permalink
    May 17, 2011 11:41 am

    The top is adorable. I hope we get to see a picture of it on the baby.

  2. Evie permalink
    May 17, 2011 1:55 pm

    Have BL model the army dress you made during your yard sale and when people admire it, tell them you will be at the Market!!

Leave a Reply

