Skip to content

I have internet again (for now)

May 31, 2011

My Internet connection has been basically non-existant for the past two weeks.  I’ve also misplaced the battery charger for my camera, so my most recent pictures are stuck on the camera until I can find the charger.  We also had three tornadoes touch down in our county last week!  And that is why there has been lack of posting.

We’ve been busy, though!  My husband was able to find out what his address was, so BL and I were hard at work getting his first care package together.  We baked five “Cakes in a Jar” to send along.  It’s pretty hard to find vegan baked goods in his Dining Facility, so he’s pretty excited to get them!

I made two Banana Breads in a Jar, and three Chocolate Cakes in a Jar.  The banana bread is pictured above, doesn’t it look tasty?!  I’m not going to bother posting the banana bread recipe because I’ve learned that people are pretty die-hard about their own banana bread recipes, so I know I won’t be converting anyone if I post mine.  The cake I made was from the Moosewood Cookbook(Just click Vegan Chocolate Cake from the list at the top of the page).  The good thing about Cake in a Jar is that it works with any recipe!  It’s all in the method.

You mix up whatever batter you’ll be using, grease your jars generously, and fill your washed mason jars halfway full.  Put the jars on a cookie sheet, and pop them into a preheated oven.

The instructions I found on the Loving a Soldier Blog say to bake at 400, but my recipe called for 350, so I compromised with 375 for both the banana bread and the chocolate cake, and it worked great.  I baked them for about 25-30 minutes, but keep an eye on them, so they don’t burn.

While the jars are baking, boil the lids.  I boiled mine for 10 minutes because that’s how long I was supposed to boil BL’s first sippy cups to sanitize them, but I’m not sure that was necessary.  Once your jars have finished baking, take them out of the oven, and put the lids on right away, then put the ring on and tighten it, but you don’t have to super tighten it, you can do that once it cools.  You’ll need to wear oven mitts on both hands when you put the lids on.  The heat from the cakes and jars will seal the jars for you!  After about 5 or 10 minutes, you’ll start to hear them popping!

Here’s what your sealed jar will look like!  I let mine cool overnight before I packed them up because I figured the glass would take quite a while to cool.

I made an extra mini-loaf of banana bread for quality control.  BL loved it, mainly because I used her mini cookie cutters to make it into hearts and teddy bears.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Chris permalink
    June 1, 2011 12:46 am

    Great to have you back! The bread/cake in a jar is so cool. I hadn’t heard of that before.

Leave a Reply

