Skip to content

Vegan Applesauce Oatmeal Pancakes

June 24, 2011

I love a good pancake, BL does not.  Really anything I bake lately, she turns her nose up at, but I had to give these a try.

I had gotten an amazing smoothie from a juice bar the day before- it was an apple, a banana, a half a cup of oats, flax oil, apple juice, and some cinnamon, all blended into a smoothie, and it blew my mind.  It tasted like it should be a baked good, and so it inspired me to mess around with a few pancake recipes, trying to emulate it.

This is what I came up with!

What you need:

1 cup whole wheat flour

1 cup rolled oats

2 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

1 T sugar

1/2 cup apple sauce

1-1/2 cups milk (I use almond, but any non-dairy milk would work.  You’ll just need to play around with the amount, you might not need as much of a thin milk, like rice milk, but a thicker milk, like soy might need more)

~1/2 tsp ground cinnamon, or more to taste

What you do:

Whisk all the dry ingredients together

In a separate bowl, whisk the milk and applesauce

Add the wet to the dry, and whisk it all together

Heat your griddle- I just use my cast iron skillet

Melt a little margarine, or put a tiny bit of cooking oil in the pan, and make your pancakes!

If you have a little 2 year old who takes a lot of convincing to eat ANYTHING, I recommend this; after you put your margarine/oil in the pan, put a metal cookie cutter in, and fill with batter, like this Javelina cookie cutter:

It might leak out a little on the bottom, but it should basically keep it’s shape.  You don’t want the pan too hot, or it won’t cook all the way through before it starts to brown.  Ideally, you want the batter to start bubbling on top before you flip it.  When the time comes, flip the whole thing, cutter and all.

You will eventually end up with the cutest little pancake you ever did see.  I finished my Javelina friend off with a chocolate chip eye.

Who could resist that?!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Chris permalink
    June 24, 2011 11:25 am

    Did little miss Blue eat her pancake? It’s adorable. The pancakes sound delicious – I will have to try them this weekend.

  2. June 30, 2011 7:31 pm

    I can’t wait to come home and have Applesauce Oatmeal Javelina pancakes!

Leave a Reply

