Skip to content

Pumpkin bread!

June 27, 2011

It’s been cool and rainy here in the midwest, so I decided to fix up a fall favorite, pumpkin bread!  The recipe I was making last fall involved almost two cups of vanilla yogurt and oodles of sugar, so I was in search of an updated recipe.  I found this fabulous recipe!  I was really happy with it, but I did make a few alterations, because I didn’t want to use refined sugar and I didn’t have 100% of the ingredients.

The recipe calls for 1-1/2 cups of brown sugar, and instead I used 1 cup of evaporated cane juice, and 1/2 cup of minimally refined organic sugar (I find that straight evaporated cane juice can just be too molasses-y for my and BL’s tastes).  It also calls for 1 cup of oat bran, which I replaced with 1 cup of rolled oats.  I also baked it in my bundt pan rather than two loaves, but because I have only 1 loaf pan, no other reason.

If you use a bundt pan, I highly recommend you flour it after you butter it, it makes the cake come out SO much easier.

In the bundt pan, it took just over an hour at 350 to be done.

Mmmmmm!  I’m crazy for oats lately.  Don’t they look so tasty in that bread?!  I cut the loaf in half, and BL and I devoured one half, and I put the other half in the freezer to keep for the tea party I’m having this month.

She likes it!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

