Skip to content

Farmer’s Market!

July 3, 2011

I love fresh local produce!  It’s my favorite part of summer in the midwest.  I have a super cool friend who has been sharing her CSA box with me when she goes out of town, so I’ve got to cook with a great variety of veggies lately.  Not all of the dishes were spectacular, like this quinoa stuffed zucchini:

It looks tasty, but it was weirdly bland.  Here is the recipe.  I think with some kind of pasta sauce on top it could be very tasty.

I also had beets (non-can beets, anyway) for the first time ever!  They were fun to make.  I wrapped each one in a little piece of foil, and baked them for about 40 minutes at 400.

Then when they were cool enough to touch, I peeled them with my fingers and popped them in a skillet with a little olive oil and fried them a tad.  The peeling was interesting, it made dinner preparation look like a murder scene.

One of my favorite side dishes is oven roasted cabbage.  Just slice the cabbage into ~1 inch slices, brush each side with olive oil and roast at 400 for about 30 minutes, flipping half-way through.  And keep a close eye on it, if it overcooks, it’s impossible to chew.

 

And of course, I also (attempt) to sell things at the Farmer’s Market!  I’ve come to terms with the fact that I have very different taste in little girls clothes than almost the entire town, as I’ve only sold one skirt this summer.  And I’ve made over a dozen.

There are other things people kind of dig, like the reusable snack bags, and yoga pants.  But between what I buy at the market and what I sell, I usually break even (although, not when I think about buying materials… I definitely don’t have a head for business!)

Anyway, I do like to sew, and I like the things I make (even though that seems to be the kiss of death for my merchandise! It’s the stuff I make that I DON’T love that usually sells!)  And I also love being at farmer’s markets!

And we do have a cute booth, do we not?!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Stuart permalink
    July 3, 2011 5:04 pm

    I would have bought my little girl those skirts because she would have begged for them. Too bad we didn’t have a farmers market back then.

  2. July 3, 2011 9:27 pm

    I loved your booth, looks like you have so much fun doing it!

  3. Evie permalink
    July 4, 2011 3:08 pm

    I discovered beets last year and turns out I love them too! And I they help with the taste of any green juice, for sure.

    You will get to go to TWO farmers markets when you are up here!! YAY!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

