Skip to content

Smoothies and snack bags

July 12, 2011

I’ve been dreaming about an amazing smoothie I had in my hometown last month, and so I had to make one for myself.  I was also hoping BL, who hasn’t been big on fruit lately, would have some if I told her it was yogurt, but she wouldn’t even try a bite.  Oh well, more for me!

The smoothie I was basing my recipe on had apples, apple juice, banana, cinnamon, and oats in it.  I haven’t been in the mood for apples lately, but I had a ton of strawberries I had bought with hopes of BL snacking on them (which she refused to do) so I used them instead.

Here’s what you need:

1/2 cup rolled oats

1 1/2 bananas

~10 strawberries

~1/2 tsp cinnamon

~1/4 cup apple juice (or more, or less, to get the consistency you want)

Here’s what you do:

Put the oats in your blender, and blend them until they are powdery

Add the rest of the ingredients

And blend!  Add apple juice if it’s too thick.  It makes about two glassfuls (depending on your glasses, of course)  and what it really needs is some cashew whipped cream on top, but I’ve been too stingy to try making it.  Cashews are pricey!

I’ve been whipping up reusable snack bags galore for the farmer’s market!  BL has a green flowery one that she loves.  Last week we did a “Boy Week” since boys are very under-represented at our market.  Here are some of the boy snack bags:

I also made some grillin’ aprons.  I LOVE this “Be a man” fabric.  I want to make something for my husband out of it, because until very recently, he was sporting a mustache that was almost as manly as the one on the fabric.

We’re having a “Picnic” theme this week, so I’ve been making picnic-y snack bags and attire.  I love this fruity fabric.  It’s seersucker!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Evie permalink
    July 13, 2011 6:22 pm

    I love the Be A Man fabric too!

    Was the Spiderman bag the very first thing that sold? It’s great.

Leave a Reply

