Skip to content

vegan comfort food

September 18, 2011

For the past three days, the only expressions I have seen out of BL are pouting,

scowling,

and indignation.  And so to reward myself for not even googling Toddler Boarding Schools, I’ve been whipping up some amazing comfort food.  And I haven’t even been gaining weight!

Mmmmm, veggie dogs (almost) Chicago style with a simple salad.  That’s right, two hot dogs.  I did say it was comfort food!  The salad is Organic Girl Super Greens with tomato, cucumber, lemon juice, and about a teaspoon of olive oil.

This was tonights monstrosity.  It was so amazing.  That’s a mini BLT salad, an equally mini sweet potato that was too cute at the farmer’s market this morning not to buy, and the most amazing wrap I’ve ever had.  If you read my post yesterday, you’ll remember I’m crazy for hummus on my grilled sandwiches.  Well, imagine my delight when I found this recipe in my Peas and Thank you Cookbook! Looking at that picture makes me want to make the whole thing again, even though I can still hardly breathe for how filling it was.

And of course, you can’t talk comfort food with out bringing up some thick, creamy soup.  Unfortunately I forgot to take a picture of the actual soup once it was finished, but you’ll have to believe me that these ingredients make a gorgeous soup.  This made the perfect amount for me to have it for dinner and the rest for lunch, so it will only serve 2 (or 1 over 2 days) so increase the amounts as necessary.  It’s possibly the best soup I’ve had since the winter! (If I do say so myself)

Here’s what you need:

1 half of an acorn squash

dash sea salt

1 T extra virgin olive oil

around 8 fingerling potatoes of various colors

2 cloves of garlic

1 T chopped chives

2 cups vegetable broth

1/2 cup water

Here’s what you do:

Pre-heat your oven to 400, spray the cut side of your acorn squash with olive oil in a can (or brush it on from a bottle) poke some holes in the shell of it, and place it cut side down on a square of aluminum foil either directly on the rack, or on a baking sheet.  Roast for around 20 minutes, flip it over, and roast for 10 more minutes, then let it begin to cool so you can peel it later.

In a big ol’ soup pot, heat around 1/4-1/2 tsp of sea salt for 30 seconds, add the olive oil and heat for a minute more, then add the garlic, chives, and potatoes and let cook for about 2-3 minutes, stirring if they start to stick.

Meanwhile, peel the roasted acorn squash.  I found it was easiest to do this by cutting it into crescent moons, then slicing the skin off one moon at a time.  I wish I had pictures to better explain that, but alas, I don’t.

Chop the acorn squash and add it to the vegetables for a minute or so, then add the broth and water.

Bring to a boil, then reduce heat and cook until the potatoes are soft.

Blend the whole thing with a hand blender, or in a regular blender in batches (hold the lid on with a towel if you do this, because hot things tend to make blenders explode- not to scare you)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Chris permalink
    September 18, 2011 3:47 pm

    I want to eat dinner at your house every night! The soup sounds wonderful, and I can’t wait to try it!

  2. Evie permalink
    September 19, 2011 12:15 pm

    You haven’t posted in so long and now there are TWO! Excellent. I forgot all about that sandwich, and am glad you reminded me.
    How can BL pout when she has on totally excellent purple boots?!?

Leave a Reply

